Xbox 20th Anniversary Livestream Coming In November, But No New Game Reveals

Posted on


2021 marks the 20th anniversary of Xbox and Halo, and Microsoft is celebrating with a digital broadcast. The digital showcase takes place on Monday, November 15, which is exactly 20 years to the day following the original Xbox’s release in 2001 with Halo: Combat Evolved as a launch title. Few could have predicted how much the brand would grow in the next 20 years.

“While we won’t announce any new games, this anniversary broadcast will be a special look back at 20 years of Xbox,” Microsoft said in the announcement.

No Caption Provided

The event takes place November 15 at 10 AM PT / 1 PM ET / 5 PM GMT. More details will be released soon in the lead-up to the event next month.

Microsoft made this announcement not long after one of its social media pages teased some kind of reveal. While many believed it might be connected to Playground’s new Fable, this is not the case, and fans are still waiting to learn more about the next Fable game.

In other news, Microsoft has announced a Game of the Year edition of Microsoft Flight Simulator that will be released on November 18 as a free update for people who already own the game outright and for Xbox Game Pass members. It comes with five new aircraft, eight more airports, and new community-requested features like DX12 support.

Additionally, Microsoft is releasing a special-edition Xbox controller and headset themed around 20 years of Xbox, while there is a new Halo-branded Xbox Series X console on the way.

Outside of the anniversary, Microsoft has a new piece of hardware coming this year–a mini-fridge. The Xbox mini-fridge, which plays off the joke that the Series X looks like a refrigerator, launches this year for $100. Preorders opened on October 19.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *